Community Resources

Building Change Inc., a 501(c )(3) non-profit organization working with support from
members of the Municipal Collaboration and jurisdictions in the Southern and Central
Districts of Maryland, are providing weatherization upgrades funded by an MEA grant.
Qualified homeowners get upgrades at no cost that will save money on monthly utility bills and make your homes more energy efficient.

Website: https://www.edge-gogreen.com/grants/ and https://buildingchange.net/

Please contact Lt. (Ret) James (Jim) Flynn 240-417-9098 (cell), Fax# 240-786-4186,
or Alison Miller 301-908-4079 to verify.

All homeowners must meet income criteria and be willing to provide documentation of income.

 

To help homeowners deal with large assessment increases on their principal residence, state law has established the Homestead Property Tax Credit. The Homestead Credit limits the increase in taxable assessments each year to a fixed percentage. Every county and municipality in Maryland is required to limit taxable assessment increases to 10% or less each year. 

Technically, the Homestead Credit does not limit the market value of the property as determined by the Department of Assessments and Taxation. Instead, it is actually a credit calculated on any assessment increase exceeding 10% (or the lower cap enacted by the local governments) from one year to the next. The credit is calculated based on the 10% limit for purposes of the State property tax, and 10% or less (as determined by local governments) for purposes of local taxation. In other words, the homeowner pays no property tax on the market value increase which is above the limit.

This new credit, effective July 1, 2023, will provide up to a 20% credit of the County property taxes, inclusive of any Homeowners and Homestead Tax Credit, for up to 5 years. Applications will be made available in Spring 2023. To be eligible, you must meet the following criteria: 1. Age 65 and over, AND 2. Own and reside at property for which credit is sought for at least the previous 10 years, AND 3. The assessed value does not exceed $500,000 at the time of application, AND 4. The application is made by October 1 of the fiscal year the credit is sought.

Scroll to Top